What side of the foil goes up?

Most people think it matters whether aluminum foil is used shiny side up or down, but the surprising truth is that it doesn't make a difference. The variation is a result of the manufacturing process—the shiny side comes in contact with highly polished steel rollers, and the matte side doesn't.