What is the story of splatoon?

Splatoon is a 2015 third-person shooter developed and published by Nintendo. The game focuses on paintball-like Turf Wars between Inklings, who try to cover the most ground using weaponized ink. The game was first revealed at E3 2014, and was released for the Wii U on May 29, 2015