What kind of doctor is an oncologist?

An oncologist is a doctor who treats cancer, and provides medical care for a person diagnosed with cancer.

---

A doctor who has special training to diagnose and treat adult cancer. Often, a medical oncologist is the primary health care provider for someone with cancer. A medical oncologist also provides supportive care and may coordinate treatment given by other specialists.