How do you grow an avocado plant from a seed?

There are online videos that can show you this easier than I can tell you but I'll try: Remove the seed from a ripe avocado and wash. Stab it with three toothpicks, about one third of the way up. Place the avocado pit point up in a glass or jar filled with tepid water. in 6 weeks it should sprout.