Can dogs see better than humans?

Dogs have rod-dominated retinas that allow them to see well in the dark. Along with superior night vision, dogs have better motion visibility than humans have. However, while not color blind, dogs do not see colors as humans do.

---

Dogs have rod-dominated retinas that allow them to see well in the dark. Along with superior night vision, dogs have better motion visibility than humans have. However, because their retinas' contain only about one-tenth the concentration of cones, dogs do not see colors as humans do.