What does the word madolin mean?

A mandolin is either: A. A medieval musical instrument with a bowl shaped resonance chamber and 5 strings. Or B. A kitchen tool used to slice vegetables, also make batons and Julianne cuts by having cross cut blades. Usually is adjustable for thickness.