Who was the wizard in lord of the rings?

There are officially Five Great Wizards in Lord of the Rings. Saruman and Gandalf -- including "Gandalf the Gray" and "Gandalf the White" -- dominate in the movie trilogy. Other Great Wizards are Radagast, Alatar, and Pallando.

---

Gandalf the gray