Why do dogs like to cuddle?

Dogs that do cuddle will do so for numerous reasons. A few reasons could be that they can sense when you are having a bad day from years of living with humans, to show affection or that cold weather dogs have learned to cuddle for warmth and that carries over in their DNA.