What is a bonsai charge?

A Banzai charge ( B A N Z A I ), is the term that was used by the Allied forces of World War II to refer to Japanese human wave attacks and swarming staged by infantry units. It was a shortened version of the Japanese battle cry "Tennōheika Banzai," meaning, "Long live His Majesty the Emperor"