How was macaroni and cheese invented?

Per the web, Mac & Cheese was invented by Mary Randolph and published in a book called "the Virginia Housewife". In the cookbook, she published a recipe called "Macaroni and Cheese". Her recipe was simple and included only 3 ingredients: macaroni, cheese, and butter. Other inventors exist as well.

---

Cheese was added to cooked macaroni pasta