How does igneous rock turn into sediment?

Igneous, or volcanic, rock such as basalt or granite can become sediment through erosion in one place that is deposited somewhere else. Both igneous and sedimentary rock can become metamorphic rock such as slate, marble, or quartzite when exposed to high temperature and very high pressure.