What is the wooly bear caterpillar?

Sometimes they're also called hedgehog caterpillars because, when disturbed, they curl up in a ball with their bristly hairs pointing outward. When spring arrives, woolly bears spin fuzzy cocoons and transform inside them into full-grown moths.