How did guinea pigs get their name?

The origin of the name is uncertain. The Incas domesticated Guinea pigs 3,000 years ago. Spanish conquistadors brought them to Europe in the sixteenth century, from the port of Guiana in South America, where they became popular among Elizabethan society, according the National Geographic.