What does it mean to flute a pie?

Fluting a pie means to add a fluted, or zigzag, edge around the top. To do this, trim the crust to about a half inch. Fold the top crust, if any, over the bottom and form a ridge along the edge. Pinch from the outside with 1 hand using a finger from the other hand in between.