Is watermelon pink or red?

Watermelon is both. If it’s nice and fresh it tends to be red but if it’s a bit old it starts to look pink. Also melons which are poorer quality tend to be pinker.

---

Watermelons are red because the flesh contains lycopene, a natural red pigment from the carotene family. This means it can range in color from yellow to red, and a fully ripe watermelon is a hot pink, nearly red type of shade.