What is maniac on netflix about?

Two strangers who are drawn to the late stages of a mysterious pharmaceutical trial; different reasons for participating in the experiment, one is disaffected and aimless, fixated on broken relationships, while one has struggled throughout his life with a disputed diagnosis of schizophrenia.