What was the trial of mary astor about?

The scandal revolved around Mary's diary, which her ex-husband—Franklyn Thorpe, a Hollywood doctor—had found when they were still married. Its incriminating contents had forced Mary to give up custody of their daughter, Marylyn, in order to obtain a divorce.