How long do i boil eggs to make them hard boiled?

Add cold water to come at least 1 inch above the eggs. Cover and bring the water to a boil; turn off the heat. Let the eggs stand covered in the hot water for 15 minutes for large eggs, 12 minutes for medium, and 18 minutes for extra large.