Is it daddy longlegs a spider?

The critters most commonly referred to as daddy longlegs are not spiders. They are Opiliones and also known as harvestmen. They are also arachnids, but are more closely related to scorpions than to spiders. Spiders have two distinct body segments, but Opiliones have a compact oval-shaped body.