Why is hamburger called hamburger?

A hamburger is called a hamburger because the new fad of putting a top bun on a patty melt started in the city of Hamburg.

---

Hamburgers probably got their name from “Hamburg Steak.” In the late 1700s, German sailors traveling from Hamburg Germany to New York took slabs of hard salted minced beef with them for the journey.