Who lives in mesopotamia?

In ancient times the, Sumerian, Assyrians and Babylonians were the primary population of upper and lower Mesopotamia. The Hittite people were on the northern part of the empire. The area that was Mesopotamia, ran along the banks of the Tigers and Euphrates rivers, in the surrounding areas.