When did people start wearing makeup?

The history of cosmetics spans at least 7,000 years and is present in almost every society on earth. However, make-up became fashionable Around 1910 in the US and Europe due to the influence of ballet and theatre. Many of the present day makeup manufacturers were established in the 1920s and 30s.