What's a brut?

Brut, which means "dry, raw, or unrefined," in French, is the driest (meaning the least sweet) classification of Champagne. To be considered Brut, the Champagne must be made with less than 12 grams of added sugar per liter. Brut Champagne is the most common style of sparkling wine.