Why did tarek and christina get a divorce?

In May 2016 they separated after an incident at their Southern California home. Tarek was found by police & maintained that he was never suicidal & had gone for a hike taking a gun to protect himself from animals. After the incident Christina stated that being separated was healthier for both of us.