What is an ermine?

An Ermine is the common name given to a stoat, or small northern short-tailed weasel with a short, black-tipped tail, a long body, and short legs. Its fur is dark brown in summer but white in snowy, winter conditions. The white fur is called "ermine," and in the winter, it is called "ermine" too.