Where does the saying sweat like a pig come from?

The original expression "sweat like a pig" allegedly comes from smelting pig iron (which sweats as it cools). Pig iron, by the way, is so named because it's shaped in molds that branch off like piglets suckling on a sow. So it has nothing to do with the animal at all. It's about iron.