What is schnapps made from?

Schnapps is a type of distilled spirit. True schnapps is made by fermenting fruit juices along with the base liquor, so schnapps is considered a fruit brandy or eau de vie. In America, schnapps is made by mixing neutral grain spirit (like rye or barley) with fruit syrup, spices, or other flavors.