How do you take your temperature with a thermometer?

Clean the tip with cold water and soap, then rinse it. Turn the thermometer on. Put the tip under your tongue, towards the back of your mouth. Close your lips around the thermometer. Wait until it beeps or flashes. Check the temperature on the display.