What do papayas taste like?

Papaya tastes very similar to cantaloupe melons or a more exotic version of a mango. There is a slight sweetness but it's not overly powerful. Ripe papaya has a buttery texture that melts in your mouth. Unripe papaya has harder flesh with little to no flavor.