Do you fertilize hibiscus?

Hibiscus plants in containers should be fertilized a little more frequently than ones planted in garden beds— about once a week during the blooming period should suffice. Garden hibiscus should be fertilized about once every two weeks. Neither require any fertilizer during the winter months.