What's the difference between a beignet and a doughnut?

The ingredients in a beignet are slightly different from a traditional donut, which gives a distinct texture difference. Made with more yeast and fewer eggs than a typical donut recipe, beignets tend to be a little more puffy with a soft middle. Donuts, of course, have a hole instead of a middle.