How many candles are lit throughout the eight nights of hanukkah?

The Hanukkah candles consist of two parts. The neyros (or lights) increase over the course of the holiday from 1 to 8. There are 36 total. In addition, an extra candle called a shamash is lit to “serve” the others. Including the shamash, 44 candles would be lit.