Why do they say clean as a whistle?

the old simile describes the whistling sound of a sword as it swishes through the air to decapitate someone, and an early 19th century quotation does suggest this connection: 'A first rate shot. (his) head taken off as clean as a whistle. ' from the Encyclopedia of Word and Phrase Origins.