How old are hoverboards?

The term Hoverboard entered popular culture in 1989's Back To The Future Part 2, describing a futuristic skateboard with no wheels. It was not until 2013 when a self-balancing scooter was funded on Kickstarter under the name "Hovertrax," leading to many imitators sold with the name "Hoverboard"