Where was the movie emperor filmed?

Although the film is set in post-war Japan, all but two days were shot in New Zealand at 32 locations around Auckland, at Auckland Film Studios, and at locations in Wellington and Hamilton. It was post produced at Park Road Post Production.

---

The 2020 film was filmed in Georgia.