Where does the saying life of riley come from?

The Life of Riley: became a popular maxim from a 1940's radio show. The lead character, Chester A. Riley, would act on some bad advice, get into trouble, and then get some good advice, and get out of trouble. Ending up back where he started and realizing, that's not such a bad place to be.