What is the actual big bang theory?

The Big Bang theory is the hypothesis that the Universe began at a defined point in time and expanded from an extremely hot dense state. That beginning is currently believed to be about 13.8 billion years ago. The physicist Roger Penrose has proposed that this may have occurred many times