Who discovered viruses?

Dmitri Ivanowsky discovered viruses in 1892. He recognized an infectious agent, which caused tobacco mosaic disease and that this agent was smaller than bacteria. Later, in 1898, M.W. Beijerinek called the filter 'Contagium vivum fluidum' and named it the 'virus'.