Who is mary dixon keys?

Mary Dixon Kies, who lived from March 21, 1752 to 1837, was an American inventor. On May 5, 1809, her patent for a new technique of weaving straw with silk and thread to make hats was signed by President Madison. Some sources say she was the first woman to receive a US Patent, but this is disputed.