Does vinegar kill gnats?

To kill the gnats, an apple cider vinegar trap will do the trick. Simply put a few tablespoons of apple cider vinegar in a plastic cup. ... This allows the gnats to fly in, but it's difficult to escape. The sweet smell of the vinegar lures them in and the dish soap traps them or weighs them down.