What is the song that smell about?

What is the song, that smell, about? Members of, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Ronnie Van Zant, and guitarist Allen Collins, were inspired to write the song, as a warning, about the consequences of careless overuse of drugs and alcohol, after band member, Gary Rossington, crashed his car.