How did they make bubble gum?

Bubble gum used to be made from chicle, which is a kind of tree sap. Most of the chewing gum made today is made using gum base, which includes a mixture of polymers, plasticizers, and resins, and mixed together with softeners, preservatives, sweeteners, colors and flavorings.