How do you get tattoos off?

Because a tattoo is ink injected into the skin, it will not come off without removing skin. Q-switched lasers can break down tattoo pigments into small pieces your immune system can disperse. There are home-use units, but this sounds like a job for a pro; check local listings for tattoo removal.