What is the meaning of kaushik?

Kaushik/Koushik is ancient Indian 'Gotra' applied to an Indian clan. Origin of Kaushik can be referenced to an ancient Hindu text. There was a Rishi (saint) by the name of "Vishvamitra" meaning 'friend of the universe', he was also called as Rishi "Kaushik".