Which year did nasa go in space?

Astronaut Alan Shepard Jr.'s Freedom 7 mission, powered by a Redstone rocket, went into space May 5, 1961. Shepard became the first American in space, a flight that lasted 15 minutes, 28 seconds. He later made it to the Moon on Apollo 14.