Is chardonnay considered a dry white wine?

Simple answer is no. Chardonnay can either be a sweet or dry wine. It is up to the wine maker whether he lets the fermentation complete, meaning the yeast eats up all the sugar leaving a dry finish. Or the wine maker pulls the wine before fermentation is complete giving the wine a sweet finish.

---

Chardonnay is a dry, full-bodied white wine with primary fruit flavors of apple, yellow melon and starfruit. Since it's one of the few white wines that is commonly aged in oak, you'll often find Chardonnay will taste of cream, vanilla or butter.