What is omprazole?

Omeprazole is commonly known by the brand name Prilosec OTC, but may also be known by Zegerid OTC, Zegerid, and OmePPi. It can treat heartburn, a damaged esophagus, stomach ulcers, and gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD).