How to properly wash fruit?

For foods that have a thin skin, wash them in cold water. You may use a small amount of soap, but rinse thoroughly. Fruit like oranges and bananas that are peeled do not need to be washed. Fruit with shiny skin like apples and pears can be washed in hot water to remove the (food grade) wax.