When were blinds invented?

The first window blinds appeared in ancient Egypt, over 5000 years ago, when reeds were strung together to control the amount of light entering through a window. In 1769, Englishman Edward Bevan placed adjustable wooden slats in a frame, and was awarded the first patent for Venetian blinds.