What is red food dye made out of?

The most common red food dye is Allura Red AC (also known as FD&C Red 40) and is derived from petroleum. In more complex terms, it is the water soluble azo dye disodium salt of 6-hydroxy-5-[(2-methoxy-5-methyl-4-sulfophenyl)azo]-2-naphthalenesulfonic acid. That's a mouthful.